The First Responder Network is made up of members of the UQ Community. First Responders provide a safe and supportive environment for survivors of sexual assault and sexual harassment to receive information on the support services that are available.

Members of the First Responder Network also have other supportive roles around the university including; UQ Ally Network, Mental Health Champions and Discrimination and Harassment Contact Officer (DHCO).

Find out more about the First Responder Network

Need emergency support?

If you are experiencing an emergency or have just experienced sexual assault and misconduct then you can call:

  • +61 7 3365 3333 UQ Security for on campus emergencies
  • 000 for immediate police or ambulance assistance
  • 1800 Respect 1800 737 732 for 24/7 counselling support

Contact a First Responder

The Network is not an emergency response or counselling service. If you need counselling please book an appointment with our Sexual Misconduct Support Unit. 

Name

Organisational unit

Location Other role Email
Adriana De Michiel UQ Library St Lucia UQ Ally a.demichiel@library.uq.edu.au
Aideen McInerney-Leo The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute TRI   a.mcinerney@uq.edu.au
Andrea Strachan Student Services St Lucia   andrea.strachan@uq.edu.au
Bernadette Yates Union College St Lucia   b.yates@unioncollegeuq.com.au
Catherine Fitzgerald Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally, DHCO c.fitzgerald3@uq.edu.au
Ceridwen Wynne St John’s College St Lucia   seniortutor@stjohns.uq.edu.au
Christina Scattini Emmanuel College St Lucia   c.scattini@emmanuel.uq.edu.au
David Andersen Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally, Mental Health First Aid d.andersen2@uq.edu.au
Deborah Walsh School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work St Lucia   d.walsh@social.uq.edu.au
Desiree Van Aswegen Institute of Continuing and TESOL Education (ICTE) St Lucia   d.vanaswegen@icte.uq.edu.au
Diana McCluskey School of Political Science and International Studies St Lucia   d.mccluskey@uq.edu.au
Dino Willox Student Employability Centre St Lucia   d.willox@uq.edu.au
Elizabeth Gorga Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally, Mental Health Champion e.gorga@uq.edu.au
Emma Heard Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally e.heard@uq.edu.au
Eunice Ngunu The Student Centre St Lucia UQ Ally, DHCO e.ngunu@uq.edu.au
Hayley M Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia UQ Ally h.sycz@uq.edu.au
Heather Stewart UQ Business School  St Lucia Mental Health Champion heather.stewart@uq.edu.au
Jackie Gonzales UQ Student Union (UQU) St Lucia Mental Health Champion jackie.gonzalez@uqu.com.au
James Fraser

School of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine

St Lucia Mental Health First Aid, First aid j.fraser5@uq.edu.au
James Lewandowski-Cox UQ Library St Lucia UQ Ally, DHCO j.cox1@uq.edu.au
Jennifer Croud Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia   j.croud@uq.edu.au
Kate Tucker Faculty of Business, Economics and Law St Lucia Mental Health Champion kate.tucker@uq.edu.au
Katie Gollschewski Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia UQ Ally k.gollschewski@uq.edu.au
Kris Frost Property and Facilities – Security Section St Lucia   k.frost@uq.edu.au
Letitia Norton Student Services Gatton   letitia.norton@uq.edu.au
Louise Hallo Emmanuel College St Lucia   l.hallo@emmanuel.uq.edu.au
Lynda Shevellar School of Social Science  St Lucia UQ Ally l.shevellar@uq.edu.au
Margaret Dunne Student Services St Lucia   margaret.dunn@uq.edu.au
Miriam Henze* MBRS (casual), QBI (honorary) External   m.henze@uq.edu.au
Nancy Lachner Faculty of Science St Lucia   n.lachner@uq.edu.au
Paris Renzella School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences St Lucia   p.renzella@uq.edu.au
Peter Walker King's College St Lucia UQ Ally p.walker@kings.uq.edu.au
Philip Gillingham Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences St Lucia   p.gillingham@uq.edu.au
Rachel Zheng Faculty of Medicine, Child Health Queensland Clinical Unit Queensland Children’s Hospital, South Bank Ally, DHOC Rachel.Zheng@uq.edu.au
Rebecca Lush Faculty of Medicine, School of Biomedical Sciences Herston UQ Ally r.lush@uq.edu.au
Renee de Simone Student Services St Lucia   r.desimone@uq.edu.au
Roxana Paterson Grace College St Lucia UQ Ally deputy@grace.uq.edu.au
Ruby Wallace Global Engagement  St Lucia   ruby.wallace@uq.edu.au
Sally Northcroft The Women's College St Lucia   deanofstudents@womens.uq.edu.au
Sallyanne Graham Student Centre St Lucia UQ Ally s.graham2@uq.edu.au
Sarah Walker King's College St Lucia   s.walker@kings.uq.edu.au
Shamara Pitiyage  Faculty of Humanities and Social Science, School of Communication of Arts St Lucia UQ Ally  s.pitiyage@uq.edu.au
Selina Lucy (Currently on leave) Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally s.lucy@uq.edu.au
Shirin Jamarani Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) St Lucia UQ Ally m.jamarani@uq.edu.au
Simon Scott Halls of Residence Gatton   s.scott@uq.edu.au
Sol Rojas-Lizana School of Languages St Lucia UQ Ally, DHOC i.rojaslizana@uq.edu.au
Suaditya C Mohan (Suady) School of Social Science St Lucia UQ Ally s.mohan@uq.edu.au
Sybilla Wilson Student Services St Lucia   s.wilson6@uq.edu.au
Tania Kapp Student Services St Lucia   t.kapp@uq.edu.au
Tess Dobinson School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences St Lucia UQ Ally t.dobinson@uq.edu.au
Tracey Scott UQ Sport St Lucia   traceyS@uqsport.com.au
Valeska Wood Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit St Lucia UQ Ally v.wood@uq.edu.au
Wayne Kollegger Halls of Residence Gatton   w.kollegger@uq.edu.au
Yohan Nair International House St Lucia   y.nair@inthouse.uq.edu.au

*Contact with this First Responder will likely be via email and phone only as they generally sit externally to UQ campuses.