The First Responder Network is made up of members of the UQ Community. First Responders provide a safe and supportive environment so survivors of sexual assault and misconduct can receive information on the support services that are available.

First Responders with an * next to their name are also members of the UQ Ally Network. Members of the UQ Ally Network provide a 'safe zone' for students and staff identifying as LGBTI and promote the University's commitment to developing a safe and inclusive work and study environment. 

Find out more about the First Responder Network

Need emergency support?

If you are experiencing an emergency or have just experienced sexual assault and misconduct then you can call:

  • 000 for immediate police or ambulance assistance
  • UQ Security +61 7 3365 3333 for on campus emergencies
  • 1800 Respect 1800 737 732 for 24/7 counselling support

Contact a First Responder

The Network is not an emergency response or counselling service. If you need counselling please book an appointment with our Sexual Misconduct Support Unit. 

Name Organisational unit Location Other role Email
Adriana De Michiel UQ Library St Lucia UQ Ally a.demichiel@library.uq.edu.au
Andrea Strachan Student Services St Lucia   andrea.strachan@uq.edu.au
Bernadette Yates Union College St Lucia   b.yates@unioncollegeuq.com.au
Catherine Fitzgerald Student Services St Lucia   c.fitzgerald3@uq.edu.au
Ceridwen Wynne St John’s College St Lucia   seniortutor@stjohns.uq.edu.au
Christina Scattini Emmanuel College St Lucia   c.scattini@emmanuel.uq.edu.au
Deborah Walsh School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work St Lucia   d.walsh@social.uq.edu.au
Desiree Van Aswegen Institute of Continuing and TESOL Education (ICTE) St Lucia   d.vanaswegen@icte.uq.edu.au
Diana McCluskey School of Political Science and International Studies St Lucia   d.mccluskey@uq.edu.au
Dino Willox Student Employability Centre St Lucia   d.willox@uq.edu.au
Emma Heard Student Services St Lucia   e.heard@uq.edu.au
Hayley McGreevy Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia UQ Ally h.mcgreevy@uq.edu.au
Jennifer Croud Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia   j.croud@uq.edu.au
Kate Tucker Faculty of Buisness, Economics and Law St Lucia   kate.tucker@uq.edu.au
Katie Gollschewski Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology St Lucia UQ Ally k.gollschewski@uq.edu.au
Letitia Norton Student Services Gatton   letitia.norton@uq.edu.au
Louise Hallo Emmanuel College St Lucia   l.hallo@emmanuel.uq.edu.au
Lynda Shevellar School of Social Science  St Lucia UQ Ally l.shevellar@uq.edu.au
Margaret Dunne Student Services St Lucia   margaret.dunn@uq.edu.au
Matthew Ebden Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally m.ebden@uq.edu.au
Nancy Lachner Faculty of Science St Lucia   n.lachner@uq.edu.au
Paris Renzella School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences St Lucia   p.renzella@uq.edu.au
Peter Walker Kings College St Lucia   p.walker@kings.uq.edu.au
Philip Gillingham Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences St Lucia   p.gillingham@uq.edu.au
Renee de Simone Student Services St Lucia   r.desimone@uq.edu.au
Roxana Paterson Grace College St Lucia UQ Ally deputy@grace.uq.edu.au
Ruby Wallace Global Engagement  St Lucia   ruby.wallace@uq.edu.au
Sarah Walker Emmanuel College St Lucia   s.walker@emmanueal.uq.edu.au
Selina Lucy Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally s.lucy@uq.edu.au
Shirin Mohammad Hassan Jamarani Office of Research Ethics St Lucia UQ Ally m.jamarani@uq.edu.au
Simon Scott Halls of Residence Gatton   s.scott@uq.edu.au
Sybilla Wilson Student Services St Lucia   s.wilson6@uq.edu.au
Tania Kapp Student Services St Lucia   t.kapp@uq.edu.au
Tess Dobinson School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences St Lucia UQ Ally t.dobinson@uq.edu.au
Tracey Scott UQ Sport St Lucia   traceyS@uqsport.com.au
Trish Taggart Student Services St Lucia UQ Ally t.taggart@uq.edu.au
Wayne Kollegger Halls of Residence Gatton   w.kollegger@uq.edu.au
Yohan Nair International House St Lucia   y.nair@inthouse.uq.edu.au

Why should I contact a First Responder?

First Responders offer a safe and supportive environment so that you can receive information on the support services that are available to you. First Responders will:

  • listen without judgment;
  • help you find relevant support services on and off campus;
  • respect your right to choose services and whether to make a formal report to UQ or the police and
  • provide information about UQ's policies and procedures about sexual misconduct.
Limitations of First Responders

Although our First Responder Network is passionate about helping survivors of sexual assault and misconduct, the network is not an emergency response or counselling service.

If you need to see a counsellor our Sexual Misconduct Support Unit has dedicated counsellors who specialise in supporting survivors of sexual misconduct. Book an appointment with the SMS Unit. 

If you are in immediate danger you can contact the police 000, UQ Security 07 3365 3333 or Australia's sexual assault hotline 1800 RESPECT.

Who are First Responders?

The First Responders Network (FRN) is a group of dedicated volunteers from all cross-sections of the UQ community who are committed to ensuring UQ is a safe and respectful environment, free from all forms of sexual assault and misconduct.

These volunteers are committed to the university’s stance of ensuring that the work and study environment for all employees, students and volunteers is safe, respectful and free from all forms of sexual assault, and misconduct.

You can find a full list of First Responders under our First Responder Directory.

UQ Allies

First Responders with an * next to their name are also members of the UQ Ally Network. Members of the UQ Ally Network provide a 'safe zone' for students and staff identifying as LGBTI, and promote the University's commitment to developing a safe and inclusive work and study environment. Please see here for more information about the UQ Ally Network.

How do I contact a First Responder?

You can find a list of First Responders on our First Responder Directory.

If you would like to get in contact with a First Responder please email them with a short summary that responds to the following questions:

  • Are you a student or staff member?
  • Are you reaching out in reference to an experience that happened to you or someone else?
  • What type of support are you seeking?
    • Information on the policy and procedure regarding sexual assault and misconduct;
    • Advice on the report options available to survivors and the process at UQ;
    • Information on support services available at UQ including counselling and appropriate adjustments; or
    • Something else - please provide a brief summary of the type of support you are seeking from a First Responder.

You can contact any member from our FRN and are not limited to talking to a First Responder from your Faculty or Unit.

Please note that First Responders are not counsellors, if you require counselling please book an appointment with the Sexual Misconduct Support Unit

UQ Allies

First Responders with an * next to their name are also members of the UQ Ally Network. Members of the UQ Ally Network provide a 'safe zone' for students and staff identifying as LGBTI, and promote the University's commitment to developing a safe and inclusive work and study environment. Please see here for more information about the UQ Ally Network.

Privacy information

If you choose to engage with any of the support services available at The University of Queensland, it’s important to note that basic information from your interaction will be logged.

The University of Queensland needs to monitor interactions regarding incidents of sexual assault and misconduct. This information will be used to help improve our policies and support services.

This information can be kept anonymous and no further action needs to be taken. The choice is with the survivor on how they intend to proceed with the support services available.

Find out more